Upcoming Events

 

Spoken Interludes


A salon for stories since 1996. All shows open to the public.

SHOWS DO SELL OUT
Please make reservations early

Tuesday, June 5th, 2018

Please scroll down for all event information


New York Times bestselling author MEG WOLITZER reads from her new novel The Female Persuasion
“Much has changed in the feminist movement, and for all women… and this book observes those changes with a gimlet eye.” —Time
“Finally, a novel about a complicated relationship that doesn’t get nearly enough attention: that between mentor and mentee. Full of Meg Wolitzer’s signature acumen and insight.” — Esquire “A novel to get excited about.” — The Guardian

Critically-acclaimed and New York Times bestselling writer J. COURTNEY SULLIVAN reads from her new novel, Saints for All Occasions
“Reminiscent of both Colm Toibin’s Brooklyn and Matthew Thomas’s We Are Not Ourselves… All of Sullivan’s characters leap off the page. You don’t read this book; you breathe it.” – Janet Maslin, “Times Critics‘ Top Books of 2017,” The New York Times
“Fabulous and smart.” — Emma StraubThe New York Times Book Review


Critically-acclaimed writer JOHN FREEMAN GILL reads from his debut novel, The Gargoyle Hunters
“Marvelously evocative … exuberant … eye-opening … [an] urban Indiana Jones-like escapade.” — The New York Times
The Gargoyle Hunters is wonderful, strong, funny, with yards and yards of beautiful writing. Its pages are full of reading pleasures… Extraordinary.” — Annie Proulx, Pulitzer Prize – and National Book Award–winning author of The Shipping News and “Brokeback Mountain“.
Special Summer Show – Monday, July 9th

Please scroll down for all event information

Featuring 3 of the Best Beach Reads of Summer 2018
Click here for more info


A spring books pick by Entertainment Weekly, ABCNews/Good Morning America, Southern Living, and more… JAMIE BRENNER reads from her new novel, The Husband Hour. When a young widow’s reclusive life in a charming beach town is interrupted by a surprise visitor, she is forced to reckon with dark secrets about her family, her late husband, and the past she tried to leave behind. 
Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Jane Green will adore this poignant and powerful tale of one woman’s journey to find peace against the idyllic backdrop of her family’s seaside home. Forgiveness, homecoming, healing, and a second chance at love make for a heady cocktail that will keep readers captivated long after they have turned the final page. ” 
Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of THE ORPHAN’S TALE

1 of New York Times 4 Writers to Watch This Summer (Click here for more info) National Book Award winning writer, JUDY BLUNDELL reads from her new novel, The High Season. The Hamptons hath no fury like a woman scorned. No matter what the world throws her way, at least Ruthie Beamish has the house. Lovingly renovated, located by the sea in a quiet Long Island village, the house is her nest egg. The catch? To afford it, Ruthie must let it go during the best part of the year. It’s Memorial Day weekend and Ruthie has packed up their belongings for what her daughter calls “the summer bummer”: the family’s annual exodus to make way for renters. This year, the Hamptons set has arrived. The widow of a blue-chip artist, Adeline Clay is elegant, connected, and accompanied by a gorgeous stepson. But soon Adeline demonstrates an uncanny ability to help herself to Ruthie’s life—her house, her friends, even her husband (okay, ex-husband, but still). And after Ruthie’s job as the director of a local museum is threatened, she finally decides to fight back. “A shimmering story of art, money, and celebrity, The High Season is wicked summer fun.”—Helen Simonson, New York Times bestselling author of Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand
Critically-acclaimed writer, CRISTINA ALGER reads from her new novel, The Banker’s Wife . On an early morning in November, a couple boards a private plane bound for Geneva, flying into a storm. Soon after, it simply drops off the radar, and its wreckage is later uncovered in the Alps. Among the disappeared is Matthew Lerner, a banking insider at Swiss United, a powerful offshore bank. His young widow, Annabel, is left grappling with the secrets he left behind, including an encrypted laptop and a shady client list. As she begins a desperate search for answers, she determines that Matthew’s death was no accident, and that she is now in the crosshairs of his powerful enemies. Meanwhile, ambitious society journalist Marina Tourneau has finally landed at the top. Now that she’s engaged to Grant Ellis, she will stop writing about powerful families and finally be a part of one. But while looking into Swiss United, Marina uncovers information that implicates some of the most powerful men in the financial world, including a few who are too close to home. The story could also be the answer to Annabel’s heartbreaking search–if Marina chooses to publish it. “Immersive, satisfying, tense–and timely: This is probably happening for real right now.”—Lee Child

Produced by DeLauné Michel

All shows at
RIVERVIEW
1 Warburton Ave

Hastings-On-Hudson, NY 10706

Dinner 6:00 – 7:30 pm (arrive anytime)
Spoken Interludes 7:30 – 8:30 pm (writers read with Q&A)
Book signing 8:30 – 9:00 pm

Reservations needed. Click here

Dinner & Reading – $30.00 cash at the door.
Admission price goes to caterer and venue. Spoken Interludes makes no money from events.

Books sold by The Village Bookstore of Pleasantville, NY

Best Bet
Los Angeles Times

Best New Literary Salon
Westchester Magazine

Featured In
The New York Times
and
GQ Magazine

“It’s like a bedtime story for the soul.”
The Journal News

Los Angeles Magazine
Top Ten List

LA Weekly
Pick of the Week

“…a cozy, inspiring evening. As calendar editor, I recommend this highly.”
Venice Magazine

bubble8

More reviews!

 

“It’s so nice to feel part of a community in the big urban sprawl we call L.A. Spoken Interludes feels very New York-ish.”
Ann Magnuson, actress/writer“What an absolutely beautiful evening! I just love it.”
Carolyn See, award-winning writer

 

 

 

Leave a Reply